The simple Post-It note

Post It Notes

 

How do you take the ideas that are free floating in your mind and turn them into a solid well-constructed speech? Simple…the Post-It note.

I like to take my ideas and write them on individual Post-It notes and then put these notes on a wall. I make sure that there is only one idea per Post-It note. I go one step further by putting my major ideas on one colored note and the supporting ideas on different colors. I arrange the notes as if I was playing Solitaire with the major idea on top and the supporting ideas underneath.

After brainstorming for a while, I step back and just spend time looking at how everything flows. I can then rearrange, delete or add ideas to make the speech flow smoothly and with a clear purpose. Of course the length of the speech dictates the number of ideas that can be used.

The Post-It note, a speaker’s salvation.

Leave a Reply

